
Reporting New Hires is the Law 

Employee in this case means an individual you provide with a W-4 form or W-2 form. 

The date of hire is the first day services are performed for wages by an individual. 

●  Employee Name ●  Employer Name  

●  Employee Address  ●  Employer Address  

●  Employee Social Security Number  ●  Federal Employer Identification Number 

●  Date of Hire  ●  Unemployment Insurance Employer Account Number  

2  Fax the completed report to Idaho Department of 

Labor at (208)332-7411 

3  Internet: labor.idaho.gov/applications/newhire 

4  Drop the report off at your nearest Idaho  

Department of Labor office.  

History 
Since October 1, 1997, all employers are required by the New Hire Reporting Law to report new employees to the 

Idaho Department of Labor within 20 days of hire. This law applies to all Idaho employers and businesses that hire 

new employees or rehire employees whose previous employment ended more than 12 months before the current 

date of hire. New hire reporting is part of the national effort to reform welfare.  

 

 

 

 

 
Include the following information when reporting new hires:  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rationale  
Reporting new hires to the Idaho Department of Labor benefits children and your business. New hire reporting 

helps:  

 Reduce government spending on welfare;  

 Locate individuals who avoid their child support responsibilities; 

 Enable the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare to more rapidly issue wage withholding orders, the most 

effective way to collect child support; and 

 Prevent increases in Unemployment Insurance taxes by detecting improper benefit payments.  

 

The Process 
Both paper and electronic reporting options are available. Employers hiring 50 or more new employees per report-

ing period are encouraged to report electronically (see other side). To submit a report, choose one of the following  

four options.  
 

1  Mail completed copies of the report to:  

Idaho Department of Labor  

New Hire Reporting  

317 W. Main St. 

Boise, Idaho 83735-0610  

 

 

The W-4 form is the standard paper reporting process. Submit a legible copy of the employee’s W-4 form and add the 

date of hire and your Idaho Unemployment Insurance Employer Account Number to the bottom of the copy. A new hire 

reporting form is available if you call the Idaho Department of Labor at 800-627-3880. 

 

Send material by mail postmarked no later than 20 days from the hire date. 

Send faxes within 20 days of the hire date. 

All information will be kept confidential. 

For questions about reporting new hires, call 800-627-3880. 

 



New Hire Reporting Guidelines 

 

 

Electronic Reporting Instructions 

 Reports must be filed by two monthly transmissions, not less than 12 days or more than 16 days apart.  

 Format the report as a text file using record types 1S and 2S as shown below.  

 3.5 " diskettes formatted 1.44 MB are the preferred magnetic media. Contact us for instructions if you wish to use 

writeable CDs or e-mail to transmit the file.  

 Name the file "Newhire.txt."  

 Include the following on the diskette label: the business name and mailing address, contact person, phone  

number and employer 's Federal Employer Identification Number.  

 Mail the diskette to Idaho Commerce & Labor at the address listed on the other side of this page.  

 

Code 1S Supplemental State Record - Employee Information  

Location  Field  Length  Remarks   

l-2  Record Identifier  2    Constant "1S"  

3-11  SSN   9    Employee's Social Security Number  

12-31  Employee Last Name  20  

32-46  Employee First Name  15  

47-47  Employee Middle Initial  1  

48-55  Date of Hire  8    Enter month, day, year, e. g. "10012005” 

56-84  Employee Address  29  

85-102  Employee City  18  

103-104  Employee State  2  

105-109  Employee ZIP  5  

110-114  Employee ZIP Extension  5    4-digit code + hyphen in position 110  

115-123  Federal Account Number (FEIN) 9  

124-124  Not Used  1  

125-126  Work State Code Identification  2    FIPS postal numeric code e. g. "16 " Idaho  

127-128  Not Used  2  

 

Code 2S Supplemental State Record - Employer Information (only one 2S record is needed per FEIN) 

Location   Field  Length  Remarks   

l-2  Record Identifier   2   Constant "2S"  

3-12  State Unemployment Insurance   10   Idaho only, otherwise zero fill  

 Employer Account Number 

13-21  Federal Account Number (FEIN)  9  

22-41  Employer Name   20  

42-70  Employer Address   29 

71-88  Employer City   18  

83-90  Employer State   2  

91-95  Employer ZIP   5  

96-100  Employer ZIP Extension   5   4-digit code + hyphen in position 96  

101-128  Not Used   28  

 

 

Costs associated with this publication are available by contacting the Idaho Department of Labor, which is funded in part by federal grants  

from the U.S. Department of Labor. The Idaho Department of Labor is an Equal Opportunity Employer.  

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Dial 711 for TTY Idaho Relay Service. 
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